Jonathan

Bending

8 posts in this topic

Hi, I am new to the forum and yoga. 

I have been doing yoga at home for about a month and started a local weekly class last week. I manage about 4 practices a week but aim for daily.

the biggist hurdle at the moment is understanding how to increase flexibility. In particular when bending. 

I am trying to understand where the issue is and what poses and stretches to do to work on it.

if I sit on the floor, legs out straight, I cant bend over very much at all. I see others folded in half and I struggle to be further forward than having my back upright! This impacts lots of poses.

if I bend my legs to the side I can fold forward so am I correct in thinking I need to work on my legs? And if so how do I best do that?

any help and guidance would be great.

Thanks LarryD517 - I didn't realise it was my hamstring but it makes perfect sense! Perfect, okay so I will work on practises around those until I work out the tension.

That article was really helpful.

Thank you very much, that is really helpful. Excited to crack on now i know what to work on to remove the tension. 

Hi Jonathan I am glad you found our little community and welcome. Understand that with stretching if we push really hard into any stretch all our muscles tense and contract then we can't really do anything. It is difficult to breathe, we can't really do much in the pose, we won't gain much from the pose, maybe injury. It's important to understand the part in that link about the stretch reflex. When sitting in Staff Pose, Dandasana, you can also try pressing your heels down strongly and bend your knees as much as necessary. We are working toward straight legs but much more important to have a long extended spine. You can also put your hands behind you on the floor, behind your bum and give yourself a little assist up for more height in the torso. Don't become dependent on the arms for this, just a little extra boost in the right direction.