Phamine

Outer wrist injury from Mayurasana

14 posts in this topic

I've been practicing this arm balance for a couple of months. Still not getting the full expression of the pose and it's not going to help now that I injured BOTH left and right outer wrists.

I think I strained them so the recovery has been slow. I found Candace's Yoga hands diagram through google.

My question is should the pressure points be the same since the hands are now facing towards the rear of my body? A followup would be - should the pressure still be towards the fingers and knuckles in Mayurasana? I'm sure I've been placing weight on the bottom palms as I shift my weight forward to get lift

wrist-pain-in-yoga.jpg

I'm entering through butterfly at the moment.

No. Still recovering so I've been laying off them.

Wow, thanks for the video, that makes this really easy.  It's really good that you are giving your wrists a rest until they get better. If you keep stressing them they are only going to get worse and worse. A sore muscle is easy and quick to deal with. Pain in the joints have to be really careful. This pose puts a great deal of stress on the wrists and also requires a large amount of dorsiflexion (cocking the wrist-hand backward) And there are good ways to deal with that problem and also find more strength and ease in the wrists at the same time. Now I hope you don't think I am being a 'B' for this but I don't feel comfortable helping when you have an injury of this type. So if you can wait until your wrists are back to normal I would be happy to help, I will still be here it doesn't matter how long it takes.