Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lauraadele

lacking upper body strength

6 posts in this topic

Hi everybody! I'm new this forum, but had a question maybe people can help me out on. I've been doing yoga pretty actively for four years, but can't seem to master more advanced arm balances and head stands because my upper body strength is just not there. I feel like sometimes in yoga the majority is focused on leg strength and I feel as though I can only do so many chaturangas before I tire out. Anyone else have this problem? Thanks!!

Don't worry, you're not alone!  I am actually quite pleased how strong our legs have gotten from yoga, too. I think classes do focus on legs a lot to stretch out our hip flexors because most of us sit and work all day. I used to have some knee issues when I walked, but building up my quad strength in those deep lunges have helped.  

Anyway, I've been practicing for 5 years and still can't do bakasana let alone any "more advanced arm balances". But, I did find myself closest to holding it when we practiced "turbo dogs" instead of downward dog each time we did a vinyasa.  It forces you to squeeze your elbows together like holding a beach ball between your forearms. That engages the serratus anterior muscles (armpit muscles), which create a more stable "shelf" for arm balances.  

And I completely relate - if there are a lot of vinyasas in a class, I do modified chaturangas and low cobra since my chest gets tired, to prevent my wrists getting worn out, and so I don't get tired and lose my form. I think the nice thing about yoga is getting to know your body better, and each day is different.