Breathe

Balancing Teaching and Own Practice

6 posts in this topic

I'm wondering if anyone has any tips on balancing teaching and one's own practice. I'm a new teacher and have just started offering classes. I love sharing my passion for yoga with others and, even though my classes are small, I find it beautiful to see my students in each pose... A whole new perspective! However, I'm finding it to be a lot of hard work to prepare for classes and promote them. And, while I still practice myself fairly regularly - usually testing out my class sequences and timing - I find I'm missing just being a student. I'm miss going to the studio and just doing what I'm told - getting lost in myself and in my own practice... or when practicing at home, just doing whatever comes natural and paying attention to what my body is asking for that day.

Maybe it's just because teaching is new for me and a better balance will come in time?

YogaByCandace likes this

Teaching does take away from what we are used to doing without teaching. But I have found teaching also advances our own practice in different ways. Some other good benefits as well. So that is a really good part. I think the trick is to find the balance and everyone is different. I only teach one class per week for this reason. I have other reasons outside of yoga that I only teach once per week but even if they weren't in the way I would still only teach once.

Now give us a real shock and tell us the weather at your location. "It's really nice out today. It's only 300 below zero.":)

Breathe and YogaByCandace like this

LOL - it's only -23 degrees Celsius here at present. It's supposed to warm up to -16, which means with the milder temperatures comes more snow.

Thanks for the tip. As a very organized person, I think I'm having a hard time getting a good schedule nailed down - which is leaving me feel a tad unbalanced.

YogaByCandace likes this