Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
yogancupcake38

New to yoga, need some tips on different levels!!

6 posts in this topic

Hello,

I've been looking for an online community for yoga to ask some questions as I am very new to it and maybe also share some experiences with people who are starting yoga as wel!! This forum seemed to be quite lively and lovely!! :)

So here we go:

I have been doing a 5-minute morning yoga routine for two weeks now. I did yoga before but very infrequently. I feel 5 minutes it fits my needs and time so far and I am enjoying it. Sometimes I do one in the evening and last weekend I also did a longer one. I've realized some things that I need some advice on :

- I find it difficult to fit my movements with my breathing, I'm not sure if it's because I'm not mastering the poses enough? So what I do basically is kind of wait for my breathing, so let's say I have changed position but I feel breathing in is unnatural in that position, I get back to my previous one, breathe in, then back to the latest and breathe out. And sometimes it feels very good to do so, like I'm "synchronized" with my body. I was thinking maybe I haven't mastered the poses enough, I plan to watch some yoga foundations videos this weekend on the poses I use most often. What do you guys think?

- Also, and this might also be a problem of mastering the poses, I end up having back of hips pains (when I do downward dog or the like). I don't think it's supposed to hurt, on the contrary, I should feel better right?

- The first time I did the sequence I felt very energized, more alive and in touch with my body. But ever since I've never really felt it again (except a little today). I'm not sure it's bringing me any benefits...Is it a matter of time or..?