Slingshot

Negative Thoughts During Yoga

5 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone, 

I am somewhat new to yoga. I have had my good days and my bad days while at yoga. Some days, I completely forget about the outside world and even everyone in the class and just focus on being present throughout the practice. However, lately I have been having a very difficult time staying focused through an entire class and end up wishing the class would end early. I can't seem to break out of this negative thought pattern.

For example. Bending over in a pose and noticing my stomach and small little rolls that form when bending over. From there my mind starts to wander about what I've been eating and how I need to be better about eating healthy (although I am a pretty healthy person). There are times when I can focus back on the mat, however, the next time we bend over the thought process spirals again. I feel like I end up leaving more stressed than when I came to practice. I've noticed this typically happens after a weekend where I went out and probably had a few too many drinks and stayed out a little too late. I don't want to give up going and having a good time with friends... But at the same time I want to continue to see the progression with my yoga practice.

Any advice on how to work on this? 

Thanks

YogaByCandace likes this

Return to your breath. Listen to the rhythmic, oceanic sound, especially during "ujaya" breathing. Take at least four seconds on the inhales (during passive poses, like resting in downward dog) and try to make the exhale even longer. If you concentrate on breathing you won't focus on "other stuff"  

The meditation that instructors lead at the beginning and end of the class .... are skills to train you in clearing your mind. You can use these skills any time you wish.

yogafire and YogaByCandace like this