Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kmkb

Cross-Training For Yoga

4 posts in this topic

Hi everyone! I posted in "Ask a Yoga Question", but I'm just too impatient to wait for another blog post! (I guess I haven't practiced enough to learn patience, hehe)

Here is my question:

I have seen a lot of material about how to add yoga to an existing fitness routine. However, if yoga is my primary form of exercise, what workouts can I add that will complement yoga?

Of course I eagerly await Candace's response, but I wanted to know if anyone else started their fitness journey with yoga first. I would love to hear (read?) your thoughts, opinions, and stories!

This is probably not very helpful, because I'm a relative noob, but it's yet another person's routine I guess :)

I combine yoga with good old fashion bodyweight exercises.  Basically this entails: pushups, chins, back bends, squats, abs and handstand push ups.  This, I follow from the cheesiest book title ever written: "Convict Conditioning".  In spite of its crass title, it's probably the most comprehensive and detailed book ever written for proper form and sensible progression regarding BW exercises.  I do this 3 times a week, and then practice yoga for 1 or 2 hours a day 6 days a week.  It's a nice balance I have to say.  I'm a very lazy person as well; I don't really go in for the jump and up and down yoga stuff - I like to 'flop' into yoga postures for 5 or 10 minutes at a time.  Probably not the best routine in the world, but it's something that suits my personality (i.e, lazy git) and which I'll be able to stick to. 

I also add horse stance to my routine as well (on the advice of the readings from Paulie Zink <the founder of Yin yoga> who reckons it's one the most important things you can do). 

kmkb likes this

Thanks for your reply! I know what you mean about the "lazy" stuff—sometimes I'll get into half-plank before a teacher suggests it, haha! ;) And I'm relatively new, too; so we're in this together.