Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Katie

Advice For Teaching Privates

7 posts in this topic

I have a question for Candace or anyone else who has experience teaching private sessions.  I have been teaching for three years.  Currently I am teaching at a local gym, which has a really strong yoga program.  Compared to a lot of gyms I think I am pretty lucky in that they offer a lot of yoga classes, have props available, and I have a lot of regular students.  

I have been thinking about speaking with the director about offering private yoga classes.  The gym obviously has personal trainers and I was thinking about discussing them having a parallel type of program where you can buy a package of private yoga classes.  I was thinking along the lines of advertising it as for beginners to get ready for the group classes, for more experienced students who want to start doing arm balances etc, or for people with injuries who may need too many modifications for a regular class.  

What I'm looking for is advice about how to best market private classes, what the average rate is to charge, and any general advice about teaching in this way (I feel like it would be very different than teaching the 12-18 people I usually teach).

Thanks for any help you can give me!

I'm hoping to glean similar information, Candace. Since I am brand spankin' new to teaching privates, I'm most interested in how to make each session unique. Obviously, teaching a class is very different than doing a 1+1 private session. I am struggling w/ the transition and how to ensure my clients feel like they are getting true value from their sessions. I'm also curious about the average rate for a new private yoga teacher vs a more seasoned one? Should my rates reflect my experience as a private teacher?

YogaByCandace likes this