HopeJen

Weight Training

32 posts in this topic

I am new to yoga and am trying to find a balance with my workouts. I lift weights 6 days a week and also do cardio 2-3 times. I do 15-20 minutes of yoga a day but want to fit in some longer sessions each week also. How do you incorporate yoga into your fitness regimen or for other types of workouts into your yoga regimen

Jilliebabe and MrBalloonHands like this

Wow, 6 days a week!! That's impressive!! What kind of splits do you do?

I lift 2x/week (fully body each time) and do a bodyweight workout 1x/week (plus cardio 4x/week). On the days that I do a bodyweight workout, it will usually be about 30 minutes, followed by a 30 minute power yoga.

I also do restorative yoga every time I lift or do a long run. Candace's 30 minute restorative is my jam!

Finally, I often do yoga in the mornings just for 15 minutes or so to loosen up, energize, and start my day.

Yay! A new topic! 

In my current city, my gym is an hour and fifteen min away, so I really have to talk myself into going because it's like an all day event  :(

Recently, I've been doing more HIIT workouts - (jump rope is KILLER and I can do it from anywhere which I love), sprints at the track, and when I do make it to the gym I'll do a treadmill or bike HIIT workout (25 or 30 min sprint intervals) and then lift weights.

I'd love to hear more about your HIIT workouts. That's something I've always been curious about.

I love them because they're done fast! I used to do 45 min cardio sessions and my husband was like why are you doing that? It's not going to get you what you want to achieve. (He's against long-distance running because it burns muscle or something instead of burning fat? I have no idea.) Anyway! My jump rope hiit routine is here, and for other hiit routines I just use youtube. Search fitness blender. It's a husband and wife team, and I like that they have a variety of lengths and are always switching it up.