krystaLEE37

At Home Yoga

21 posts in this topic

Hi :) I'm new here and am looking for some advice. I have been doing yoga for around 6 months, but am just recently REALLY getting into it, if you know what I mean. I just dabbled for the first few months, at first using it just to get into shape. The last month I've really been getting into trying to learn it as a way of life, not just a daily exercise. I'm getting very into the spiritual aspect as well. So, the advice I'm searching for.. I am on a very tight budget at the moment, and do not have the means to go to a class at a studio. Hopefully that will change in the future.. So I've been practicing at home to the primary ashtanga series DVD by Kino Macgregor. I really like it and am seeing a lot of improvement in myself in all areas, but I can't help but feel I am missing something as I have nobody to correct me if my form is off. I'm doing the best I can with what I have at the moment, and I am just trying to gather any suggestions from experienced practitioners of things to keep in mind while practicing at home (other than to go to a class, as that's not a possibility for at least a yr or 2). I'm just trying to improve and make the best of my home yoga practice. Any input would be greatly appreciated :) Thanks!

Krysta

I practiced at home for many years and I totally understand the frustration of knowing you need a little correction but not being able to get it! I would suggest using a variety of videos since different instructors will give different suggestions or cues that might help something click for you. Also, the how-to graphics that Candace posts on the blog are awesome. So are the "common mistake" graphics! Sometimes seeing how NOT to do something is even more helpful than seeing the right way!