Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Danielle

How To Handle A "bad" Yoga Class?

5 posts in this topic

Hello All!

I've always been of the mindset that there is no such thing as a "bad" yoga class, that each teacher has their own style and it's all a matter of personal preference.  I went to a class yesterday and let's just say this teacher certainly challenged that belief.

I'm wondering, how would you handle a class that was truly unbearable - music was blasting, she had to yell to talk over it, her cueing and sequencing were all over the place and when she demonstrated poses she was doing them incorrectly herself.

As a fellow yoga teacher I tried to focus on my own practice and be open to a "different" teaching style, but my frustration was growing and there was nothing about being on my mat in that class that was serving me in a positive way.  So, with 15 minutes left to the class, I  did something I never thought I'd do...I quietly rolled up my mat and left.

I'm wondering, how would others handle a similar situation?  I'm torn on whether I should have stuck it out despite how the class was making me feel, or if leaving was the right thing to do since the class was having the exact opposite effect of the calming, reflective practice I was looking for.

Namaste

Danielle

YogaByCandace likes this

Something similar happened to me except this teacher is a pretty famous instructor. Here's my experience, if you want to read. In what you describe, however, I can see both sides of it. Do I challenge myself to stay and learn about what not to do as a teacher? Or do I quietly and respectful bow out, knowing that my time is valuable and this isn't enhancing my life in any way? Either way, it doesn't seem like there's a win, unfortunately.  :(

Danielle likes this