Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
notlulamae

Crochet

11 posts in this topic

Anyone else crochet? I'm a bit of a beginner and have a tendency to miss stitches and make a right old mess of it. Any advice?!

I love to crochet! I'm hoping to finish up a c2c blanket this evening. I sometimes miss stitches at the end of my rows. Counting helps. I've found that the super fuzzy yarns like Lion Brand Homespun make seeing stitches difficult for me. What are you working on?

Hi notlulamae and JRBentele!  I love to crochet too!  I have been crocheting since I was 12 (and I am 57 now).  I am self taught and I feel there is always more to learn.

I will agree with JRBentele that I also struggle with the end and beginning of rows to maintain the right amount of stitches per row.  Counting does help and taking your time at the beginning of an item to determine if you need to pick up a stitch in the same place that you just did some chains on a turn OR to pick up the next obvious stitch.  Sometimes the instructions give good directions and sometimes they don't.  I try to take the time and experiment/count when i first start and then I know what to do after that.

I also agree that the fuzzy yarns are hard too.  I made an afghan out of the Lion Brand Homespun.  It was miserable to work with and we ended up giving it away because it shed.  I had already bought some Homespun in another color and I tried to make a sweater, but that project came to an abrupt halt.  No more with that yarn.

JR, what is a c2c blanket?  

notlulamae, what project are you currently working on?

I am making rag rugs by ripping up sheets and crocheting with the strips.  Loving the outcome.

notlulamae, what project are you currently working on?

What are you working on?

Hi both!!!

I was hoping to build a blanket of granny squares however a lot of my squares aren't quite squares! Haha. :D

MooreJ - Do you crochet with a giant hook? Or are the rags small pieces??

Katie