Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Meugenio

Need The Yoga Alliance?

8 posts in this topic

I've been doing a lot of thinking and research about yoga teacher training lately. Besides considering the cost and the teachers in each program, I've been looking at programs that are and aren't certified by the Yoga Alliance. Do you think it makes a big difference whether or not I do a Yoga Alliance certified program? I'd love to hear your thoughts about this!

I personally have chosen to taken a course that is Yoga Alliance certified, and likewise as a student I pick teachers who are certified. 

I too have chosen a course that was YA approved.... I don't know if there's a huge difference, but here's what I do know: 

Yoga teacher training are big money makers for the instructors. Huge. So in knowing that, I'd look at each program pretty thoroughly trying to decide if it's worth it, or if this is company/instructor/whatever that is trying to take advantage of unsuspecting, devoted yoga students. 

Be sure you get a good look at the curriculum ahead of time. I mean, exactly what you will be learning. Get a hold of the tentative schedule to see how the day will be structured. If possible, talk with other students who have taken the training. I have never once been asked if I was registered with YA, however I do like that the YA has a standard so if the course is approved by them, at least you'll know it put in the effort to go through the approval process. I've found the whole YA thing is pretty controversial amongst yoga instructors, so this'll also depend on who you ask.

Reggi, Oak and Shawn like this