Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
YogaNewbie

Really Inflexible

7 posts in this topic

I'm brand new to yoga. I avoided it for so long because I can't even touch my toes- in fact, I can barley touch my shins! I've been to a couple classes and have been doing videos, but I'm so far off from the actual poses, I don't even know if I'm actually doing any benefit to my body! Will I see progress if I barely resemble the poses right now? Should I be starting with something more basic? How quickly should I see progress?

Most yogis I know - even teachers - have issues with flexibility to some degree or another. I have been practicing yoga for 13 years (albeit not always consistently), am about to finish my teacher training program, and my flexibility leaves much to be desired. Yoga is not about being able to touch your toes to your head or wiggle your way into full lotus.

First and foremost, yoga is not competitive and it is crucial that you do not push your body beyond its capabilities. Most poses can be readily modified for inflexible folks. "Hatha" or "Gentle Flow" classes may be your best option until you develop more flexibility, as are Iyengar beginner classes and even chair yoga. If you can swing it, a few private sessions geared on learning modifications with an instructor you like could really be a great thing.

You mentioned not being able to touch your toes, so for forward folding, make sure you minimize the degree to which you round your lower back and deeply bend your knees instead. Seriously, there is no need to keep them straight! If the nature of the class allows it, you could use blocks to bring the floor closer to you. For tight hips, you can elevate your sit bones by sitting on a bolster or two, some folded blankets, or even a block. If you are doing a seated forward fold this way, make sure your knees are at least slightly bent.

Also, be patient with yourself - yoga is a beautiful and challenging journey; it's not a destination. Good luck to you!