Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
daisy

Did I Overdo It, And How Can I Take Care Of New "weak Spots"?

8 posts in this topic

Hello everybody!

I've been practicing yoga a couple of days a week for a few months now, and came across the month by month practices from YBC. It seemed like a very good way to take the next step and to track my growth, and I chose the backbendpractice 2 weeks ago. However, after one practice I realized I wasn't quite "there" yet, the videos were pretty difficult for me to follow, so I took a step back and went back to my previous practices. 

However, the day before yesterday I strained my back at work. I do a very fysical job (I take care of people with severe mental disability, which requiers a lot of heavy lifting, pulling, pushing to roll someone over, etc), but most of the time it's fine. This time it's much worse, and I can't help but thinking that this might have to do with my practice from two weeks ago? That maybe I've now build up the stress on my muscles and now it "snapped" or something? Could this be the case?

Also I've restrained from practicing because it just doesn't feel good yet (even sitting or lying down is painful). I now that there's some good yoga postures to relief lower back pain, but my back pain is in the middle, and I was wondering if there were some yoga poses I could practice to relief the pain once I feel ready to practice again? Are there yoga poses I should NOT do the next couple of weeks to give my middle back a rest? Because I feel like this place in my back is going to be sore for a while.

Thanks a lot! (and if my English is crappy, I'm sorry, it's not my native language!)

Daisy

blueswampmusic likes this