Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LarryD517

Hands On Manipulation?

11 posts in this topic

I've been going to a classes with a few different instructors at a fitness center (not a yoga studio) for a few months now.

A couple of the instructors never touch the student, rather they will come over and explain the position if it's not correct.

One of the instructors gently guides the student during a pose. For example, in downward dog, the instructor, from behind, will place two fingers on the hips and gently pull back (full disclosure, I'm a guy and the teacher is a woman). I don't mind this approach as she never forces, merely she guides the student to learn the feel of the pose as it's supposed to be done.

Another instructor will more forcefully try to push the student. For example, in cobbler's pose she'll push the leg/knee down. I don't think this is good, in fact, I think it's dangerous as there's a reason why I stop at a certain point....it don't go no further! I imagine her training (she's a former gymnast from Russia) might have been along these lines.

I don't know enough about yoga, nor the teaching styles, to appreciate whether the last example, the somewhat forceful approach is an acceptable teaching method...or whether it's just dangerous. I've stopped taking her classes as I am concerned about injury. A few of the students (in other classes) have warned me about her style and a friend said she 'felt something pop' in her leg when the instructor manipulated her.

I'm friendly with the fitness center's manager, who has never taken yoga and I want to know whether I should discuss her style with the manager, or not. How much hands on manipulation, if any,  is appropriate?

YogaByCandace and yogafire like this