robert

Modifying Half-Way Lift?

10 posts in this topic

So I'm still working on my hamstring flexibility and it's improved a little. I've started working on the 'A' sun salutation but am having some troubble achieving the desired flat, parelell to the ground back in the half way lift. I can make it flatter in a 'more than half way' position with hands on legs, but then it's impossible to jump back. What would be the best compromise? Another thing, Candace uses the term 'cactus the arms' quite often in her videos, what does this mean?

I think I know what cactus arms means but I'm not good at explaining it. Umm... so I'm pretty sure it's when you're lying on your back and you have your arms to the side, horizontal, and put your hands up. So 90 degree angle. I have no idea if that makes sense :( but imagine one of those stereotypical desert cacti how they have the two 'arms' out to the side and heading up toward the sun. http://globe-views.com/dreams/cactus.html

Vicky likes this

The half way lift is called Ardha Uttanasana (sometimes also called Urdvah Uttanasana). I'm not trying to be difficult using the Sanskrit names, it is used to avoid confusion. 

With the half way lift the hands can be on the thighs, knees, shins, top of feet, or the floor. The hand location is not important. Like you wrote work at achieving a flat back. After the inhale is complete with the half way lift exhale and bend the knees to place the hands on the floor. Then walk the feet back. After you are comfortable walking the feet back try stepping the feet back - step one foot back at a time. Then jump the feet back. Then float the feet back.

After you walk the feet back your options are Plank pose, Cobra pose, Chaturanga Dandasana with the knees on the ground, or full Chaturanga Dandasana.

This video is very good for getting started

http://www.yogajournal.com/video/video/salute-the-sun-modified/

MrBalloonHands likes this

Ah, Saguaro cactus, I get the reference now.