Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LarryD517

How To Heal A Sore Back...

1 post in this topic

(Okay, I shamelessly chose that subject line hoping to get eyeballs for this post, but as long as you clicked the link, you might as well read what I have to say)

Full disclosure, I am not a doctor nor a physixal therapist,...anyone experiencing pain should consult with a trained professional. Now that my lawyers are satisfied...

I feel the first step to healing a bad back is to try and find out what is causing the back pain. Eliminating the source or modifying your activity can go a long way to healing.

Case in point, ever since I took up yoga, I've noticed I don't get sore back (mainly muscle pain) as often as I used to, if at all. I've told people that the added strength as a result of the various exercises (locust, bow for strength as well as a ton of twists found in many other poses) greatly contributed. With my new found well being, I had a sore back for a few days a few weeks ago, to the point that I had to take a few Advil before my morning session.

I put my mind into high gear and started to go through the list of possible culprits. Since I have a better physical profile (daily yoga for six months), it can't be due to atrophy. I work out smart, that is, I don't push myself doing stupid things, in fact, I try to do the same sequence daily, slowly working my way from one area to the other.

I realized it wasn't yoga, so I looked at the other aspects of my daily routine. I know sleeping position can cause pain, specifically sleeping on my side with raised knee causes a twisting spine soreness the next morning, so I avoid it.