ohpayk

Hand Stand And Arm Balance Questions

11 posts in this topic

I recently started training for inversions and I notice when I'm practicing a handstand my left arm tingles after a few seconds. I can't tell exactly but I think it originates in the shoulder and travels down to the hand. I'm guessing I'm pinching a nerve and wanted to know how to prevent this from happening. I'm practicing facing a wall.

Second question is about arm balances. I also do strength training and was wandering if there was specific moves anyone has had success with to increase their strength. Right now I can't hold crow pose for more than 2 seconds before I fall. In strength training sessions I'm currently focusing on push ups and pull ups as well as kettlebell exercises. Thanks for any advice.

I find crow has a lot to do with core strength as well, I have tiny arms and can hold crow pose as well as a few other arm balances for good amounts of time. Maybe you could incorporate some plank type exercises to your strength training, 30-60 second timed planks, side plank, etc. I find lay down pushups good, too (so start on the floor, touch the floor above your head, then put your arms in pushup position, lift your entire body up, then back all the way down, touch the floor above, repeat). Mountain climbers (plank and bring your knees up toward your nose). Ab bicycles. Head stand. Boat pose. Laying on your back, lifting legs right up slowly, then slowly releasing back down. 

How's your balance? I also find with crow I position myself so my eyes will be focusing on the dot on my towel. Focussing on one particular spot on your mat or the ground will also help. 

I'm not an expert by any means, but in my own personal practice these are some things I've found helpful :) I hope it helps.