RachelPotter

Advice on "mirroring"?

10 posts in this topic

I hope someone has some great tips to offer! I struggle with the same thing when teaching as does one of the teachers I take classes with. I feel like my brain just doesn't work that way! 

YogaByCandace likes this

I just do my best.  I work as a physical therapist and have to look at "mirror" right and left all day long and still mess it up all the time.  Honestly I just do the best i can.  I know one teacher who writes left on her right foot and vice versa!  I never stay on my mat the whole time so I move around the room and sometimes will face forward like them if I feel like I need to get squared away with my right and left. I also don't hesitate to ask the class "this is the side that we have not done yet correct?" or say things like "make sure you do the side you haven't done yet" (maybe they screwed up, maybe I did?) 

KristiSmithYoga likes this

I struggle with this, too! If it's reasonable to replace "right" or "left" with "front" or "back", then I'll do that. If I'm in the studio, I might say "face the blue wall". It's all mental gymnastics to me, though. Curious how others will respond :)

RachelPotter likes this

I just think opposite no matter what. So if I'm lifting the my left arm I know to say 'lift the right arm' because I know my left is actually the right. Don't know if that makes sense, but definitely think it's something that comes with lots of practice. 

I struggle with this, too! If it's reasonable to replace "right" or "left" with "front" or "back", then I'll do that. If I'm in the studio, I might say "face the blue wall". It's all mental gymnastics to me, though. Curious how others will respond :)

Yup I do a lot of "palm facing the windows" "foot towards the door you came in" etc

RachelPotter likes this