ohpayk

Flexibility Trainable?

9 posts in this topic

I reading some stuff recently regarding flexibility and wanted to hear what other people thought. From my knowledge flexibility is trainable similar to traditional strength training regardless of genetic predisposition (easier for some than others based on genetics). I am curious, though, if there have been any studies about various techniques and returns achieved in various time periods. For example you never strength train the same muscle on consecutive days. Are there similar rules for flexibility. Also have there been studies on limits and atrophy?

While I'm far from an expert, the best thing that can be said about yoga is you don't have to worry about repitition...

...For example you never strength train the same muscle on consecutive days...

...every ten seconds you're working on a different muscle or joint. As far as 'muscle confusion' is concerned, your muscles will be confused.

As far as becoming more flexible, yes, you can become more flexible with continued training. In November I could barely touch my knees...and now I can touch my shins!!! (j/k)

Yes, flexibility can be improved.

See link in my signature

fshliz09 and mimisouth like this

Flexibility can definitely be improved! That being said, sometimes anatomical "issues" can inhibit certain folks from ever being able to move into some poses. For example, I will probably never ever be able to wiggle my way into full lotus. My hips are tight, which I can (and do) work on, but some people's ball and socket joints (particularly short people's) - where the femurs fit into the hip bones - are oriented in such a manner which can make full lotus impossible (I have always had this problem, even during my gymnastics days when I could readily jump into the splits).