YogaByCandace

What Do You Do For Work And How Does It Impact Your Body?

32 posts in this topic

Apart from walking my dog for an hour and taking a shower, I have literally sat in front of my computer all day long ( over ten hours - major tech problems today, ugh!) and it started irritating my left hip and radiating into my low back. Gah! I'm a yoga teacher, yeah, but in running YBC I am always at my computer and the constant sitting impacts my hips and low back.

It got me thinking about how people's jobs directly impact how their bodies feel. I have some friends who are massage therapists and they've always got tennis elbow, other friends are teachers and their feet always hurt.

Does your job impact how your body feels? What do you do about it? 

Jilliebabe and yogagrammy like this

I work at my computer all day, 4 days a week and have definitely suffered from tight hips, stiff neck and tight chest and arm muscles. I get massages twice monthly to help as well as doing yoga and getting chiropractic adjustments monthly. I think the thing that has shown me the most improvement is regular yoga classes. I am have only been going for almost a year but I really have more range of motion and less discomfort. I especially love yin yoga which I think is helping a great deal. Sometimes I get so busy that I forget to take a break every 20 minutes or so to get up and stretch. Think I need to set a little timer to stay on track with that. :-)

mimisouth and yogagrammy like this