afriske

Affording YTT

10 posts in this topic

Hey everyone! 

I'd love to be able to teach yoga. I'm a college student and want to help other students get involved with yoga so they can have healthier bodies and minds and I want to be able to connect with them because I'm in college too.

Being a college student, however, I can't afford teacher training. It seems I'd only be able to afford online. For one thing, I don't have the money to travel and I'm in an area where there are few ytt. 

Anyone have any advice for affording ytt? What trainings are affordable? Is online acceptable as training? Any advice about how you guys have done it, that would be awesome! 

yogagrammy and KristiSmithYoga like this

I have no personal experience, but I ran into Question #2 while I was searching the ybc blog archives for a different question:

http://yogabycandace.com/blog/2015/1/25/ask-a-yoga-question?rq=online teacher training

I do think your circumstances are different in that you need it now while you're still in college, so you can't really wait to save up for an in-person one.

Why don't you ask the online programs you're considering if you can speak to graduates of the programs for their experience?

Hi afriske! That's awesome you are inspired and want to teach! I followed yogafire's link to Candace's blog and have to say that I absolutely agree with what she wrote. Everything.

Here's my two cents:

1. Regarding YA registration... I'm a newly minted RYT-200. I debated even registering with YA because in most instances it's not needed (from my experience in the Chicago area). The caveat is that studios and gyms may be hesitant to hire a teacher who isn't experienced, and the RYT designation may allow you to get in an in when you otherwise would not.