sammycj111

Yoga Everyday?

8 posts in this topic

I've seen a lot of posts that say to do Yoga everyday, I'm new to this but have worked out before. What about rest days? Do you not need one of those is it ok to do Yoga 7 days a week and not have a rest day? Even if you do other exercises? 

Don't ask us...ask your body (seriously). If you feel stressed or uncomfortable, take a rest. If you feel energetic and aren't pushing it to the point of pain or aches, why not make it an every day practice?

No one here knows your condition, age, weight, health issues, etc., Sometimes a practice can be 10-15 gentle minutes...other times it could be an hour or more or vigorous movements. There's no one right answer.

Only you can tell what is right for you...yoga, in many instances, is about connecting to your body and listening to what it's telling you.

What is yours saying? :)

brenskip55 and robert like this

I agree with Larry. It's really a personal decision, and to be honest, mine varies by week. Sometimes my body is like, okay today needs to be gentle or today I need to stretch and do nothing else, so I do restorative/yin yoga. That way I stretch all the muscles I worked so hard, and can jump right back in to a vigorous practice the next day. 

Some days, I need to lay off completely. Like if it's a particularly bad day for my body or if I'm sick or what-have you. I try my best to listen to the needs of my body and what it's telling me, not to say that it's always successful but...

The best thing you can do is do what's best for you. Since you're new to yoga, I wouldn't tell you to practice an intense rigorous routine 7 days a week, but start off slower and pay attention if you're feeling pain or exhaustion the next day. See if you can gradually increase the number of days you practice. You may decide that a few days a week is best for you, or you may decide that seven days a week is where it's at. Right now, take it day by day.