IzziLizzi

pressing into wheel pose

7 posts in this topic

Hi! I am new to the YBC forum, and started practicing yoga a year or more ago. I am having trouble pressing into wheel pose. My back is quite flexible and I know I have the strength (I go to the gym regularly and lift weights) however something is preventing me from pressing into wheel pose. The furthest I get is resting the top of my head on the mat and I just can't go any further. I am trying my best not to get frustrated.. any tips are greatly appreciated!

Me too! This is one I'm actively trying to master

At my class an instructor told me to take two blocks and put them shoulder width apart angled into the wall (similar to image, although I do it where the blocks are at a 45 degree angle). Putting your hands on the blocks (as opposed to next to my head) allows me to more easily (although, it's it's still not easy :) ) lift up

As this is a relatively difficult pose, you might consider having someone 'spot' you and help support you.

Are you practicing alone or in a class setting? 

0fd1f3c214c6f2b4f305d25851be61bc.jpg

I am not a teacher, so I don't know the answer for sure. In my experience, wheel has a stretching/lengthening effect on the forearms, as well as putting some pressure on the wrists depending on how they are bent. Do you feel flexible enough in your shoulders/arms? Are your wrists and forearms strong?

Also, make sure you're getting into the pose correctly. Candace has a video for that here- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDn8ldh7GWo

Is there a reason you feel you can't go further? Is it pain? Tightness? Weakness? If you're not sure, that would be something to explore. When you have your head on the ground, ready to press up, notice how you feel in the pose. What are the sensations in your body? What seems to be preventing you?