AnandaYoga

Strength vs Flexibility

6 posts in this topic

I seriously feel like trying to balance the two is the bane of my yoga practice! I have always adapted to any new exercise very quickly and build strength easily.  As a kid, I played soccer, volleyball, basketball, softball, gymnastics, ballet, karate, track - you name it, I did it! My body always welcomed the activity and muscle / strength building happened within weeks.  It has always served me well but I am SO frustrated when it comes to yoga!! I have been doing yoga for about 5 years now, but have only had a very committed practice for the last 4 months.  I have been able to learn all kinds of arm balances and inversions and could pop into headstand after two months, but I still can NOT touch my toes without a 20-30 minute warmup! I hope I don't come off as ungrateful, I am so blessed to have the strength and ability that I do have.  However, my ego is wanting me to do all of these beautiful intricate "Instagram worthy" flexibility based poses (King Pigeon, I'm looking at you!) and I am really struggling with balancing the two.  Any advice is so welcome! Thank you!

YogaByCandace likes this

I have the opposite problem, my arm strength is absolutely woeful. You might be able to see in my avatar that my arms are tiny and they're about as strong as they look. I find that to build it I really need to do some sort of weight / body weight training. Don't get me wrong, yoga has been amazing for my strength but I need more being so far behind everyone else naturally. Could this be a case with you for your flexibility - that perhaps you need some more gymnastics type training to build that flexibility to complement your yoga practice? I was crazy flexible when I did gymnastics.