sandrayogawpg

How long does it really take to build a yoga business

31 posts in this topic

Hi there!! I've been a certified teacher, teaching part time for the past 3 years and am now starting my own yoga program and business. I've found that there isn't a lot of people online who share what the struggle REALLY looks like when it comes to starting a yoga business - so I end up comparing my beginning to other people's middles and feel like I am failing! (I know comparison isn't helpful) Id like to know how long may I go with 1-3 people showing up to a brand new class I'm promoting, how long does it take to build a following in person and online, when do you throw in the towel? Candace has some great content about these types of things but I'd love to hear other people's stories of what the beginning of a yoga business really looks like. 

YogaByCandace likes this

That's a tricky one, and I'd say it depends on what sort of business you're building. For example, did you open your own studio? Are you teaching out of a public location like a community center or a park? Or are you contracting at an already established studio?

I started out just teaching classes on my own, renting a large space in a warehouse. It was really, really hard. I had tons of no-show classes, and eventually threw in the towel after about 6 months. I moved on to teach at a gym where I was paid a flat rate whether 0 or 20 people showed up, which was more stable income. But when I realized I really wasn't in it for the money, that I was in it for the experience, I moved to an established studio. Having someone else to promote your classes for you is a huge help. I've been there 7 months and only had one no-show class.