Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Yoganorthwest

Behaviour Issues

8 posts in this topic

Hi,

Great forum.

I've just got a question about how to deal with misbehaviour in classes. I run a class locally and in the last two classes, two women have taken part but have been silly (giggling, pushing each other etc).  Also before the second class, I was heading to my locker in the changing room and one of them came running out with the other one chasing her and squirting shampoo at her.

I've done teaching in schools at the past but not sure how to deal with misbehaviour from people in their 30's (believe they are 31 and 32).

Has anyone else had any similar experiences? Any advice?

Thanks.

YogaByCandace likes this

I haven't been a teacher in a similar situation but I've been a student in a master class and the teacher stopped the entire class and said, "Please stop talking. Kindly leave, or separate yourselves." It was super awkward - he turned off the music and everything, bringing all the attention to them, but honestly they had really been having a full out conversation which was disrupting everyone else's experience. That's an option!

robert and Yoganorthwest like this

17 hours ago, YogaByCandace said:

but honestly they had really been having a full out conversation which was disrupting everyone else's experience.

I think that's the key - they might not realize they're disrupting everyone else's experience because they're so excited to be together. Maybe that's all you need to tell them (quietly before or after class), or when you call it out to them during class, maybe you can start with that?

Stark and Yoganorthwest like this