Wildore

Committing To The Mat

44 posts in this topic

I began my yoga journey when I was a freshman in high school and my local rec center offered a gentle yoga flow.  At the time, this was the only class in my small town so I've been supplementing my practice with videos online and lurking yoga communities a bit like this one.  Because of the lack of structure (I basically get on the mat whenever I have time) I've had a few commitment issues with my practice and sometimes I take up to week-long breaks.  <_< I'm at the weird beginner stage where I feel like I could progress to more advanced stages if I could keep up on my practice but I'm a full-time student with a stressful job in the healthcare field.

I think I could really benefit from some advice on how to progress on to the next stage!  Advice on everything from committing to a routine to how to loosen tight hips and get my arms and shoulders up to par to go from crow to crane.  I won't get anywhere without practice though, so, where do other newbies get their motivation to get on the mat?

kmkb and TheLavenderYogi like this

I began my yoga journey when I was a freshman in high school and my local rec center offered a gentle yoga flow.  At the time, this was the only class in my small town so I've been supplementing my practice with videos online and lurking yoga communities a bit like this one.  Because of the lack of structure (I basically get on the mat whenever I have time) I've had a few commitment issues with my practice and sometimes I take up to week-long breaks.  <_< I'm at the weird beginner stage where I feel like I could progress to more advanced stages if I could keep up on my practice but I'm a full-time student with a stressful job in the healthcare field.