Looch

Foot Pain

8 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I have been doing yoga for about 2 months now and have been loving it.  I am not a very flexible guy in general, so that has been a point that I have had to work on slowly, trying to get into some poses that I previously had not been able to do.  One thing that has held me back during my practice is pain around the bottom of my foot. arch and in my toes. It happens mainly during warrior poses, wide legged standing forward folds and when doing yogi grip around the toes while standing. Anything that requires some sort of grip by my feet.  I'm not sure how to go about fixing this, but it is an intense ache in my arch, foot bottom and toes that limits how long i can do those poses.

Has anyone else experienced this and what can be done?

Thanks!

Do you practice on your own or in a class? An instructor seeing your posture can/might/will be able to help. Absent that, can you get a friend to take a photo that you can post...maybe one of the experts here can spot something.

Are you using a sticky mat? Mats that are slippery unwittingly require the practitioner to grip the mat with with their feet. I'm a big fan of the Jade Harmony mat (feels like glue!) 

Best advice, though, if you have intense ache...stop whatever you're doing! 

think I know the pain you're talking about. I used to get something similar, and a pinching pain in the toes too - not fun!