Lydia

Struggling with time management?

5 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

So I am finding myself increasingly having trouble managing my time. I don't *think* I am putting too much on my plate, I just don't think I'm maximizing my time very well. I'm a full time business student at a university and take all my classes online, and I also have a part time job at a local community college. My mother is chronically sick and I live at home to help her around the house - chores and meal prep are a daily thing. I also have a wonderful boyfriend who is a night nurse, so his schedule is all over the place and really we kind of have to go out whenever he gets a day off or we wouldn't see each other at all. I try to make time to get enough sleep, to make healthy meals, to have some alone time/meditate, to spend time with my boyfriend, to spend time with family, to spend time with friends, and to work out. I do an okay job, but I just feel like I am ALWAYS rushing. And the thing is, I think it is mostly in my head because I usually get everything done. But, being naturally an anxious person (I'm working on it! haha), I'm always trying to shift things around and feeling like I won't complete something. I also feel really guilty when I can't be with my boyfriend and family.

So. My question is - how do people balance their time between their social life and school/work? What do you do? Any suggestions? Anything you see that I'm doing wrong?