Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
elizabethmkane

Weird Question Alert! Does over stretching glutes during yoga practice cause a flat butt?

4 posts in this topic

Hi Candace,

Firstly, thank you for all that you do. Your YouTube tutorials have helped me immensely with my yoga practice and it's great to have the opportunity to ask you a question directly.

Secondly, I realise this is an odd question but with your experience of lifting weights alongside yoga, and your recent post about getting in the best shape of your life, I'm hoping you can help! 

I'm relatively new to yoga and have been practicing 2-3 times a week for the past four months. I absolutely love it and aside from the mental and spiritual benefits of regular practice, I've noticed that I've lost a little weight (3kg) and toned up, which is definitely an added bonus. I'm sure it's a combination of generally being more in tune with my body, eating a bit healthier and building strength/burning more calories than I was before. The only other exercise I tend to do is walking for 30-60 mins most days. But I've noticed that my (usually rather ample) butt is shrinking and seems to be a little flatter than before I started yoga. (I just wish I could say the same for my abs!)